Search Docs by Keyword

Table of Contents

Data Security Levels

What is a Data Security Level (DSL)?

Harvard groups data into 5 data security levels depending on the sensitivity of the data.  The DSL for data determines how that data must be managed.

DISCLAIMER: The information on this page relates only to the FASRC clusters and our current understanding of Harvard policy. Please refer to the Harvard Security Data Security Levels page for up-to-date university policies and information.


Cluster Data Security Level Ratings

Public information (Level 1/DSL1): The FASRC Cannon cluster is rated only for DSL 1 and DSL 2 data.
Low Risk
Low Risk (Level 2/DSL2): The FASRC Cannon cluster is rated only for DSL 1 and DSL 2 data.
Medium Risk
Medium Risk (Level 3/DSL3): Only the FASRC FASSE (FAS Secure Environment) cluster is rated for DSL3 data.
High Risk
High Risk (Level 4/DSL4): For DSL4 projects, please contact FASRC for options. Each DSL4 project is custom-built and requires funding for dedicated secure resources and setup.
Extreme Risk
Extreme Risk (Level 5/DSL5): FASRC has no systems rated for DSL5 data.



Bookmarkable Section Links

© The President and Fellows of Harvard College
Except where otherwise noted, this content is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International license.